Fwd: Itinerary for GHSFL Day at the Capitol 2020

———- Forwarded message ——— From: <kathy.vail@ghsfl.net> Date: Mon, Feb 17, 2020 at 1:27 AM Subject: Itinerary for GHSFL Day at the Capitol 2020 To: Chris Grimshaw <chris.grimshaw@ghsfl.net>, Alora Earwood < alora.earwood@cobbk12.org>, Amey Rishel <rishel@fultonschools.org>, Ava Thompson-Assam <ava.thompson-assam@cobbk12.org>, Chad Morris < cmorris@pinecrestacademy.org>, David Eichler <david.eichler@cobbk12.org>, David White <whitedp@fultonschools.org>, Elitha Sinclair < elitha.sinclair@cobbk12.org>, Eric Arnold <earnold78@forsyth.k12.ga.us>, Fatima Debe <fdebe@atlanta.k12.ga.us>, Glenn Jackson < jacksongr@fultonschools.org>, Gregg Plimpton <plimptong@fultonschools.org>, Leslie Wolfe <wolfe2@fultonschools.org>, Patti Soares < soaresp@fultonschools.org>, Rob Meinberg <rmeinberg@forsyth.k12.ga.us>, Sonya Williams (Dunwoody High) <sonya_l_williams@dekalbschoolsga.org>, Susan Pappas <samskp415@gmail.com>, Vince Strine <strinev@fultonschools.org>, Becky Yarbrough <yarbcr760@gmail.com>, Benedicte Juston < benedictejuston@hotmail.com>, Chris (LHS) Marston <lhsfencingteam@gmail.com>, Darrell Speck <northspringsfencing@gmail.com>, Eddice Nguyen < eddicenguyen@yahoo.com>, Leslie Tinsley <leslietinsley1@gmail.com>, Mary Ann Walker <mrwa@novonordisk.com>, Maureen ODonnell <mrkhein@gmail.com>, Meggy Gilbreth <northviewfencing@gmail.com>, Ruman Ghanta < denmarkfencing@gmail.com>, Sarah Taliaferro <dunwoodyhsfencing@gmail.com>, Sonnia Moon <minichung@gmail.com>, Stephen Guerra <stephenguerra@gmail.com>, Tara Sweeney <nahsfencing@gmail.com>, Roseann Harrison <mozartcat@aol.com> Cc: Ahmed Fayez <ahmfayez7@gmail.com>, Aidan McBain <aidanmcbain@gmail.com>, Bill Donges <bdonges@mysnapcam.com>, Donovan Munlin <donovanmunlin@yahoo.com>, Eden Hilton <edenjohnhilton@gmail.com>, Gene Gettler <ggettler2@comcast.net>, Henry Jung <polofiat@hotmail.com>, Jacob Wachtel <jacob.wachtel@gmail.com>, Jason Jang <jasonjang1997@hotmail.com>, Jodi Wallace <jodi.wallace@ghsfl.net>, John Stephens <jastephens1@mindspring.com>, Kara Rice < ricek1@fultonschools.org>, Oswaldo Ortega <oortega7581@gmail.com>, Sherif Fayez <fayez_fencing@hotmail.com>, Terry White <terry.white@ghsfl.net>, bbhk@mindspring.com <bbhk@mindspring.com>, kathy.vail@ghsfl.net < kathy.vail@ghsfl.net>
Itinerary for GHSFL Day at the Capitol Thursday, February 20, 2020
Enter through the Capitol’s main entrance on Washington Street. Please bring a government issued photo id: driver’s license, learner’s permit, school id, passport, teacher id, or military id to show security. All visitors must have a valid photo id. Parents with children will only have to show the parent’s id.
9:00 a.m. Meet in the Rotunda on the north steps (near the Oglethorpe statue) for *Photo with House Representative Dollar*
9:30a.m. – 9:45 a.m. *Team & individual photos* – House Chamber or Senate Chamber Please ask permission from the chamber volunteers to hold the gavel or stand at the Well in the House Chamber or Senate Chamber.
10:00a.m. *Photo with Governor Kemp*
10:15 a.m. GHSFL Recognition in the House of Representatives and Senate. •SEATING IS FIRST COME – FIRST SERVED• House and Senate Galleries – Entrance on the 4th floor.
Seating – Senate: Pope, Cambridge, Milton, Northview, North Springs, Campbell, Denmark, Lassiter, Chattahoochee
Seating – House: Centennial, Roswell, Lambert, Johns Creek, Walton, Alpharetta, Dunwoody, Pinecrest and North Atlanta.
Noon – 3:00 p.m. Fencing Demo – Rotunda – 19 students will demonstrate fencing. Space will be very limited so *only the fencers selected for the demonstration will attend. There will not be room for additional teammates, coaches, friends, etc. Additional instructions will be sent to those participating in the fencing demonstration*
3:00p.m. *Photo with Georgia School Superintendent Richard Woods*
Dress Code *Respectable business attire is strongly recommended.* That is comfortable shoes, dress pants, dress shirt, sports coat/blazer and tie for men. Attire for girls should be a sensible shirt, dress pants, knee length skirt or dress. Shoes must be worn at all times; therefore we recommend comfortable, low-heeled shoes.
Dining Paul D. Coverdell Legislative Office Building – Cafeteria – 6th floor Located across the street from the Capitol and found on the map on page 4. Please enter through the main entrance on Capitol Square Street and go to the 6th floor. (Cafeteria style)
Georgia Building Authority Twin Towers – Capitol Commons Café – Bottom Floor
Located across the street from the Capitol at 2 Martin Luther King Jr Drive and found on the map on page 4 below the MARTA sign. Food Court with Chick-fil-A and other fast foods. Please enter through main entrance on and take the escalator down one level.
Security In compliance with security regulations, all visitors must enter the Capitol through a metal detector; the X-ray machine must examine hand-carried items. No weapons, including pocketknives, are allowed in the Capitol. These items should be left in a vehicle because security is not able to hold these items. Photo identification for adults is also required. School id and learner’s permits are also valid id for students
Accessibility • Wheelchair-accessible restrooms are available on the first, third and fourth floors of the Capitol • Vending machines are located on the first floor where coffee, sodas and snacks are available. Bring money for snacks and lunch. • There is a cafeteria on the sixth floor of the Coverdell Legislative Office Building that serves breakfast daily until 10 a.m. and lunch from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. A food court is located in the bottom of the Sloppy Floyd Building, which keeps the same hours.
Directions From the North: Take I-75/85 South to Exit 248A (Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive). Bear right onto Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive. The Capitol will be on the left. From the East: Take I-20 West to Exit 58A (Capitol Avenue). Turn right on Capitol Avenue. The Capitol will be approximately one mile down on the left. Link to directions, accessibility and security information: www.libs.uga.edu/capitolmuseum/about/directions.html Link to additional Georgia Building Authority Parking Locations: gba.georgia.gov/documents/map-gba-parking-locations Online Mapping: The address to input for online maps/mobile app directions to the Capitol is: 18 Capitol Square SW Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Parking Parking is available in the pay lot across from the Capitol, adjacent to Liberty Plaza. The Georgia State Station is the closest to the Capitol. It is on the Blue Line, one stop east of the Five Points Station that also serves the Red and Gold lines coming from the north
Kathy Vail Vice-chair, Georgia High School Fencing League

DHS Wildcats Fencing, Inc. is a 501(c)3 charitable organization. All donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. Tax ID #:82-5207492. Dunwoody High School Fencing Club c/o Fencing Sponsor Sonya Williams. 5035 Vermack Road Dunwoody, GA 30338 Website: www.dhsfencing.org email: dunwoodyhsfencing@gmail.com