Fwd: Strip assignments, start times and directions for Round 6 on 14 December at Pinecrest

———- Forwarded message ——— From: Chris Grimshaw < chris.grimshaw@ghsfl.net> Date: Sat, Dec 7, 2019 at 12:46 PM Subject: Strip assignments, start times and directions for Round 6 on 14 December at Pinecrest To: Eric Arnold < earnold78@forsyth.k12.ga.us>, Henry Jung < polofiat@hotmail.com>, Ruman Ghanta < denmarkfencing@gmail.com>, Kathy Vail < kathy.vail@ghsfl.net>, Sarah Taliaferro < dunwoodyhsfencing@gmail.com>, Sonya Williams (Dunwoody High) < sonya_l_williams@dekalbschoolsga.org>, Aidan McBain < aidanmcbain@gmail.com>, Chris (LHS) Marston < lhsfencingteam@gmail.com>, Rob Meinberg < rmeinberg@forsyth.k12.ga.us>, Becky Yarbrough < yarbcr760@gmail.com>, Glenn Jackson < jacksongr@fultonschools.org>, Jacob Wachtel < jacob.wachtel@gmail.com>, Fatima Debe < fdebe@atlanta.k12.ga.us>, Tara Sweeney < nahsfencing@gmail.com>, Barb Rettker < rettker@fultonschools.org>, Meggy Gilbreth < meggy63@bellsouth.net>, Meggy Gilbreth < northviewfencing@gmail.com>, Sherif Fayez < fayez_fencing@hotmail.com>, Chad Morris < cmorris@pinecrestacademy.org>, Heather Barber < hbarber@toposllc.net>, Susan Pappas < samskp415@gmail.com>, Ava Thompson-Assam < ava.thompson-assam@cobbk12.org>, Benedicte Juston < benedictejuston@hotmail.com>, Deepa Paramesh < dparamesh100@gmail.com>, Donovan Munlin < donovanmunlin@yahoo.com> Cc: Jodi Wallace < jodi.wallace@ghsfl.net>, Terry White < terry.white@ghsfl.net>
*Rosters are due on Wednesday*
If you have not already sent them to me, the names of your fencers who will be competing and your referees who will be officiating in this tournament must be sent to me by Wednesday evening.
*Strip assignments*
All schools scheduled to be at this tournament have sent me their estimated numbers of fencers. The combined estimate is 108 fencers (61 men and 47 women). A total of 9 strips have been assigned.
The following shows the number of fencers for each school and, based on that number, the number of strips it is responsible for.
– Denmark: 2 men and 0 women. Responsible for 0 strips. – Dunwoody: 12 men and 14 women. Responsible for 2 strips. – Lambert: 6 men and 4 women. Responsible for 1 strip. – Milton: 13 men and 7 women. Responsible for 1 strip. – North Atlanta: 3 men and 3 women. Responsible for 1 strip. – Northview: 10 men and 6 women. Responsible for 1 strip. – Pinecrest: 6 men and 6 women. Responsible for 1 strip. – Roswell: 1 man and 5 women. Responsible for 1 strip. – Walton: 8 men and 2 women. Responsible for 1 strip.
If you need to add fencers, please let me know as soon as possible (and additional strips may be assigned).
*Being responsible for a strip means providing*
– Scoring equipment*. This means 2 reels, 2 floor cords and 1 scoring box. – A 50-foot extension cord with two outlets (the two boxes on a table may need to share a single wall outlet). – Referee’s equipment. This means a test weight, shims, timing device, clipboard and pencil. – A referee and (if the referee wants one) a timer/scorekeeper.
*A few schools have asked about using the new wireless scoring systems. These systems are not currently allowed by USA Fencing and so must not be used at GHSFL tournaments.
*Tournament information*
*Tournament location* The address of Pinecrest is 955 Peachtree Pkwy, Cumming, GA 30041 <
www.google.com/maps/search/?api=1&query=955%20Peachtree%20Pkwy%2C%20Cumming%2C%20GA%2030041> .
The Tournament will be in the gym. See the following diagram for where to park.
[image: Pinecrest gym.JPG]
*Start times*
– 7:30 – Check-in opens – 8:15 – Referee meeting – 8:30 – Men’s check-in closes – 10:00 – Women’s check-in closes
*Points* There are 2 tournaments in this round. As usual when we do not have all schools competing in a single tournament, the top 16 fencers in each event will earn points.
*Bout committee* The bout committee chair for this tournament will be Chad Morris. The other members of the bout committee will be Kathy Vail and Jacob Wachtel.
If you have any questions, please e-mail me.
*Chris Grimshaw* *GHSFL Tournament Director*

DHS Wildcats Fencing, Inc. is a 501(c)3 charitable organization. All donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. Tax ID #:82-5207492. Dunwoody High School Fencing Club c/o Fencing Sponsor Sonya Williams. 5035 Vermack Road Dunwoody, GA 30338 Website: www.dhsfencing.org email: dunwoodyhsfencing@gmail.com